LURECHARGE!

THE PP OUTDOOR FORUMS

Kast Gear!

Power Pro Shimano Reels G Loomis Rods

Willie boats! Puffballs!

Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#159329 - 09/09/02 12:38 AM Sturgeon on the Puyallup?
fromcuthroattosteelies Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: olympia
Tried my luck on the Nestle Quik river yesterday and some guy told me how his son caught a sturgeon down below Fred Meyer the day before. I tried not to laugh but another guy backed up his claim that there are quite a few large ones that make their way up every now and then. Weird.......

#159330 - 09/09/02 12:54 AM Re: Sturgeon on the Puyallup?
Easy Limits Offline
River Nutrients

Loc: Nisqually
That is a new one on me.....

#159331 - 09/09/02 04:20 AM Re: Sturgeon on the Puyallup?
Steelheader69 Offline
Spawner

Loc: Tacoma WA
I've been fishing the Puy since I was about 7 (25 years). Dad much longer. Fished the old Hiho hole (aka by fred meyers) for years until they shut gates down. Never heard nor seen a sturgeon. Not saying it's not possible. But never heard of it. Maybe they were newbies and caught a big bullhead and thought it was a sturgeon??? Weirder things have happened. Had a guy fishing in December show me this very LATE silver he caught. I had to inform him it was a big native steelhead. LOL. Some guys have no clue.

Northwest River Fisherman

#159332 - 09/09/02 05:06 AM Re: Sturgeon on the Puyallup?
Downriggin Offline
Repeat Spawner

Loc: Marine Area 13
Stranger things have been caught in the PEW. Anyone remember [headlines] when a plunker caught a bucket with a head half cemented in it? That must have been 12 years or so... It was at the mouth of Clark's Creek.

Downriggin'

Puget Sound Anglers, Gig Harbor Chapter

#159333 - 09/09/02 04:36 PM Re: Sturgeon on the Puyallup?
BillyBob Offline
Juvenille at Sea

Loc: Kapowsin, Wa