Three Rivers Marine

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#83358 - 12/02/99 12:40 AM Need Scientific Help
RPetzold Offline
Repeat Spawner

Loc: Everett, Wa
Anyone who can help:
I am an undergrad in the SOF at the UW and I am trying to find some evidence but have looked all over and cant find anything.
I am gonna write a paper for my FISH 101 class arguing that the ESA listing of Upper Columbia Steelhead is unwarranted and unnessacry because all the wild steelhead in the Upper Columbia are genetically and morphologically differnt from the true native fish up this system because of inbreeding between hatchery and native fish and the mixing of all Upper Columbia steelhead at Wells Dam. Thus there are now native steelhead left, they are extinct. From some books I have read I have fisherman's accounts describing the differnces between the wild fish now and the wild fish then but I dont have any scientific evidence or papers that I can use as evidence. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in Advance
Ryan S. Petzold

[This message has been edited by RPetzold (edited 12-01-1999).]

#83359 - 12/02/99 12:54 AM Re: Need Scientific Help
Huntar Offline
Returning Adult

Loc: Yakima, WA
Try contacting Amato publishing (the publisher of STS). They have published several articles relating to DNA testing of fish and may be able to point you in the right direction. Good luck.

On a side note, I must say I disagree with what I presume to be your ultimate goal of de-listing the "wild" fish you speak of. I personnaly believe even if they are inbred they still carry the genetic make-up, at least in part, of they're native ancestors. Given the proper protection and time, those superior genes will resurface.

#83360 - 12/02/99 01:08 AM Re: Need Scientific Help
greenhorn Offline
Alevin

Loc: ridgefield Wa USA